HOME >  News
Former Vice Chairman of CSRC, Dr. Jiang Yang Appointed as Special-Term Professor of SFI
Release time:2018-09-06Views:4479

Former Vice Chairman of China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC), Dr. Jiang Yang, retired in June, and has been appointed as the Special-Term Professor of Shenzhen Finance Institute (SFI). On September 4, President of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Xu Yangsheng issued the appointment letter to Dr. Jiang Yang as the eighth Special-Term Professor of SFI. The other Special-Term Professors include Nobel Prize laureate in Economics, Prof. Myron S. Scholes, former Chairman of China Banking Regulatory Commission, Prof. Liu Mingkang, former Vice Mayor of Shenzhen, Prof. Tang Jie, and etc.



President of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, Xu Yangsheng issued the appointment letter to Dr. Jiang Yang.


Prof. Xiong Wei, Academic Director of SFI, Academic Dean of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen (CUHK-Shenzhen), School of Management and Economics, and Co-editor of Journal of Finance said in the appointment ceremony that SFI was set up with the support of CUHK-Shenzhen. Its mission is to train top-notch talents, establish a global exchange platform, and function as a state-of-the-art think-tank. To achieve this mission, SFI has conferred a special-term professorship to those who will provide decision-making and consultation, open lectures and programs, and organize various academic activities for SFI.


Chairman of China Merchants Securities, Huo Da, Secretary of the Party Committee of China Capital Market Institute, Zhu Wenbin, Dean of China Capital Market Institute, Jin Liyang, Secretary of Commission for Discipline Inspection of Market and Quality Supervision Commission of Shenzhen Municipality, Li Yubai, Director General of the Research Institute of the Shenzhen Stock Exchange, He Jibao, General Manager of China Merchants Futures, Lu Gonglu, Chief Risk Officer, CRO of First Capital Securities, Yang Jian, as well as Associate Director of SFI, Wang Cong and Executive Associate Dean of CUHK-Shenzhen, Zhang Bohui attended the appointment ceremony and the “Master Forum”.




On the day before the “Master Forum”, the first physical settlement of the Chinese yuan-denominated oil futures contract started. Foreign traders were officially allowed to invest on May 4, which changed the global benchmark of iron ore to some extent. Dr. Jiang Yang started his talk with comments on these events, and then shared his opinions on the development and characteristics of China’s futures market, with respect to serving the physical economy, the pilot projects of futures market, innovations, and regulator’s exploration.


Dr. Jiang pointed out that Chinese enterprises used futures as hedging strategies to manage commodity price risk. Index futures have a stabilizing effect on China’s stock market. The futures market plays a positive role in the physical economy, but few listed companies in China make full use of it. “What problems are we facing? Among nearly 60 commodities, China has only opened two futures contracts (iron ore and crude oil) to outside investors,” Dr. Jiang said. He believed that China should open up more futures markets, which is a strong impetus for China to promote the internalization of RMB. “We should learn from experience and denominate more future contracts in yuan which would promote the use of China’s currency in global trade, and the demand of RMB would rise sharply,” he said.



The Chinese people, over 2,000 years ago, had come to understand that the tasty orange, grown in southern China, would turn sour once it is grown in the north. It emphasizes the importance of taking local conditions into consideration when developing and implementing strategies. Dr. Jiang also made a comparison between the two cities—Beijing and Shenzhen. Cultivating magnolia in Beijing needs to dig a hole for water storage while in Shenzhen, it needs a well-equipped drainage system. China’s futures market is with Chinese characteristics—led by government, dual track pricing, more retail investors, and smaller contract size. Traders are required to place a deposit before they are allowed to trade. In addition, the transmissive regulation in the futures market is unique in the world. In fact, it has been proved that the futures market with Chinese characteristics is successful. The findings of 2017 FSAP also show that China’s institutional capability of risk management in the futures market is close to the counterpart of the U.S.



The 90-minute lecture is not enough for Dr. Jiang to share all his thoughts with us. As one of the pioneers, founders and regulators of China’s futures market, Dr. Jiang has published the book Price Discovery: Futures and Financial Derivatives to expound his view on the regulation of the futures market. China’s economy has entered a new era—it needs a more “internationalized” futures market to do risk management and price discovery, which can provide services for the physical economy, and promote China’s synergistic development domestically and internationally. The book provides great insights for people with interest to discover China’s economic development.

首页> 学院新闻
证监会原副主席姜洋获聘深高金特聘教授
发布时间:2018-09-06浏览次数:821次

6月卸任的证监会原副主席姜洋接受深圳高等金融研究院的特聘教授聘任,9月4日,香港中文大学(深圳)校长徐扬生教授向姜洋博士颁发聘书。这也是深高金聘任的第八位特聘教授,在此之前,诺贝尔经济学奖得主Myron Samuel Scholes教授、银监会原主席刘明康教授、深圳市原副市长唐杰教授等已受聘为深高金特聘教授。



徐扬生教授向姜洋博士颁发聘书


深高金院长、港中大(深圳)经管学院学术院长、Journal of Finance主编熊伟教授在聘任仪式上表示,依托港中大(深圳)成立的深高金以培养创新拔尖人才为己任,同时也担负着创建国际交流平台和高端智库的使命,为了更好的完成这一使命,深高金专门设立特聘教授职位,特聘教授将为深高金提供决策咨询、开设特定讲座课程、组织各类学术活动等。

招商证券董事长霍达、资本市场学院党委书记朱文彬、资本市场学院院长金立扬、证监会深圳监管局纪委书记李宇白、深交所综合研究所所长何基报、招商期货总经理鲁公路、第一创业证券首席风险官杨健,以及深高金副院长王丛、港中大(深圳)经管学院执行副院长张博辉等也出席见证聘任仪式暨大师讲堂活动。





就在大师讲堂的前一天——9月3日,中国第一个原油期货合约进入交割,而铁矿石期货于今年5月4日正式引入境外投资者,自上市以来一定程度地改变了国际铁矿石定价基准的选择。姜洋博士由最近的故事讲起,而后由服务实体经济、中国期货市场试点探索、创新特色以及监管者的探索等几个方面,分享了他对于中国期货市场的建设与特点的思考和总结。

姜洋博士指出,中国企业通过在期货市场的套期保值,在大宗商品市场价格波动中避免了损失。同时,股指期货的推出也提高了中国股市的内在稳定性。因此,期货市场对服务实体经济有很大助益,但目前中国上市公司利用程度总体较低。“我们现在问题在哪里?现在的期货品种接近60个,已经对外开放的品种只有2个——铁矿石和原油。”姜洋博士认为,应当逐步增加开放品种,这将对人民币国际化有非常大的帮助。“我们现在是要认真总结经验,逐步选择更多的产品向国际投资者开放。如果全球相当一部分都用人民币计价,一些国家持有人民币的需求就会增加,这样对人民币国际化会有非常好的前景。”



橘生淮南则为橘,生于淮北则为枳。姜洋博士又以北京养玉兰树需挖坑蓄水,而深圳则需畅通排水来形象比喻因地制宜的重要性,中国期货市场也因此具有自身特色:是由政府主导推动建立的市场;价格“双轨制”;散户多、合约小;先交钱、后交易;更是全球绝无仅有的“穿透式”监管的市场。事实证明,中国特色的期货市场是一条成功之路,2017年FSAP评估结论显示,中国期货市场在风险防范方面,制度能力与美国市场相当。





90分钟的讲座只能点到为止,难免意犹未尽,姜洋博士作为中国期货市场的主要开拓者、建设者和监管者之一,将其二十多年来对期货和金融衍生品市场的监管思考和实践感悟凝于笔端,出版了《发现价格:期货和金融衍生品》一书,当前中国经济进入新时代,需要一个更国际化、更能服务实体经济、更能实现内外联动的期货市场来管理风险和发现价格,或许此书能为当前中国进行的新探索提供参考。