HOME >  Distinguished Lecture Series
Distinguished Lecture Series | Wang Yi: Achieving 5.5% Growth Target Requires Stable and Transparent Regulatory Environment
Release time:2022-03-19Views:1203

Organizers

Shenzhen Finance Institute

School of Management and Economics, CUHK-Shenzhen

Guest Profile


David Wang

Head of Asia Economics (ex Japan), Credit Suisse

Chief China Economist

David Wang is head of Asia Economics (ex Japan) and Chief China Economist at Credit Suisse. Prior to joining Credit Suisse, Mr. Wang was an economist in the research department of the International Monetary Fund (IMF), primarily responsible at various times for macroeconomic forecasting of Asian countries and the Eurozone countries. Before the IMF, Mr Wang was a researcher for BlackRocks Multi-asset Solutions team, specializing in tactical asset allocation, country, and sector rotation within the equity and commodities spaces. Mr Wang started his career in the financial industry as an analyst at Morgan Stanley, focusing on convertible debt underwriting and equity derivative valuations.

Mr Wang holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Stanford University and received his undergraduate education at the University of Chicago, during which he also functioned as a research assistant at the Chicago Federal Reserve.

Lecture Topic

Achieving the 5.5% Growth Target Requires a Stable and Transparent Regulatory Environment

As we enter a politically important year in 2022, Chinas economy is facing a number of challenges (sluggish household consumption, slowdown in real estate investment, etc.). Growth is expected to decelerate significantly, with the main debate being to what extent the growth will decelerate. Credit Suisses GDP forecast of 5.9% assumes sufficient policy support to achieve the potential growth above the target in one year. This is because economic and social stability is particularly crucial this year.

In 2022, the new regulatory framework will be largely in place, or will take shape by the end of the first quarter and the beginning of the second quarter. In 2021, the government uses the base effect since 2020 to provide a degree of security for the economic rebound, normalizing monetary and fiscal policy while actively strengthening its regulatory framework. Admittedly, this is not to say that there will be no new regulatory changes after the second quarter, but the pace of changes should be much slower. If it does, then this will significantly reduce regulatory uncertainty and generate the typical response associated with low uncertainty, i.e. investment growth will be higher than it would have been in an environment of uncertainty, particularly in the strategic sectors.

首页> 大讲堂
第三十五期 | 王一:实现5.5%的增长目标需要稳定、透明的监管环境
发布时间:2022-03-19浏览次数:1204次

联合主办

深圳高等金融研究院

香港中文大学(深圳)经管学院

嘉宾简介

王一

瑞信(香港)亚洲经济组主管(除日本)

首席中国经济学家

王先生是瑞信(香港)亚洲经济组主管(除日本)和首席中国经济学家。加入瑞信前,王先生曾任国际货币基金组织(IMF) 研究部的经济学家,主要负责亚洲国家和欧元区国家各个时期的宏观经济预测。在IMF任职前,王先生曾是贝莱德多重资产投资产品团队的研究员,专注于股票和大宗商品领域的战术性资产配置、国家和行业层面的仓位配置调整。王先生的金融行业职业生涯最早是在摩根士丹利担任分析师,负责可转债承销和股票衍生品估值工作。

王先生拥有斯坦福大学经济学博士学位和芝加哥大学学士学位,在此期间,他还在芝加哥联邦储备银行担任研究助理。

讲座主题

实现5.5%增长目标需要稳定、透明的监管环境

进入2022年这个政治上重要的一年,中国经济正面临诸多挑战(家庭消费低迷、房地产投资放缓等)。预计增长会明显减速,主要争论在于减速幅度会有多大。瑞信5.9%的GDP预测,是假定有足够的政策支持来实现一年内高于潜在增长的目标。因为今年的经济和社会稳定尤为重要。

2022年,新的监管框架将基本就位,或会在第一季度末/第二季度初基本成型。2021年,政府利用自2020年以来的基数效应在一定程度上为经济反弹提供的保障,在实现货币和财政政策正常化的同时,积极加强其监管框架。诚然,这并不是说第二季度以后不会出现新的监管变化,但变化速度应该会减缓许多。如果确实如此,那么这将极大降低监管的不确定性,并产生与低不确定性相关的典型反应,即投资增长率将高于在不确定性环境下的增长率,特别是在战略板块。